Date: Apr 23, 2019

Liberty Radio Awards

Johannesburg, Sunday, 14 April 2019 – The South African Broadcasting Corporation’s (SABC) radio stations have once again dominated the 2019 Liberty Radio Awards, securing 22 awards and having four inductees in this year’s hall of fame. These awards are an indication of the SABC’s ability to have employed the best strategies to build, attract and retain audiences, and most importantly yield a competitive edge to contest with other broadcasters in South Africa. The SABC’s recognition at the Liberty Radio Awards reaffirms SABC Radio as the leading hub of entertainment, news and information to the millions of South Africans and audiences outside South African boarders. SABC radio remains on top of its game, despite an increased number of other South African radio stations and the rapid growth in digital media consumption, in the form of videos and social media that is easily accessed via mobile devices. In addition, these awards are also an indication of the talent and skills possessed by our radio presenters and producers respectively. SABC Spokesperson, Ms Vuyo Mthembu stated, “this big win speaks directly to our commitment to consistently provide quality programming and content delivery. It serves as an affirmation that our brands are relevant and appealing to their respective audiences. Our victory is an indication that SABC is indeed home to the country’s biggest radio brands”. The list of all SABC winners at the Liberty Radio Awards is as follows: AFTERNOON DRIVE TIME PRESENTER (PBS) Umhlobo Wenene | Amaza Ntshanga AFTERNOON DRIVE TIME SHOW (PBS) Radio 2000 | The Glenzito Drive BREAKFAST SHOW PRESENTER (PBS) Lotus FM | O’neil Nair BREAKFAST SHOW (PBS) Lesedi FM | Monate Breakfast Show COMMUNITY PROJECT (PBS) Thobela FM | Sedibeng CONTENT PRODUCER (PBS) SAFM | SAFM Fact of Faith | Joey Johannah Legodi DAYTIME SHOW (PBS) Umhlobo Wenene | Khanya Gqiyazana DRAMA PROGRAMME (PBS) SAFM | Late Night Serial-Jozi Dark MUSIC SHOW (PBS) Umhlobo Wenene | Ikwayala Eziphambili NEWS AND ACTUALITY SHOW (PBS) trufm | Incoko NEWS BULLETIN READER (PBS) Motsweding FM | Dimakatso Motaung NIGHT-TIME SHOW (PBS) Motsweding FM | Mekonko PODCAST (COMBINED) Thobela FM | Mahlakung Drama Soap PROMOTION STUNT/EVENT (PBS) SAFM | Promotion of 16th Nelson Mandela Annual Lecture delivered by President Barack Obama RADIO DOCUMENTARY (COMBINED) Lotus FM | 1860 SPORTS PRESENTER (COMBINED) Metro FM and Radio 2000 | Robert Marawa SPORTS SHOW (PBS) Umhlobo Wenene | Ezemidlalo SPORTS SHOW (COMMERCIAL) Metro FM and Radio 2000 | Marawa Sport Worldwide STATION IMAGING (PBS) Station | Ligwalagwala FM WEEKEND RADIO SHOW Lotus FM | The Morning Masala STATION OF THE YEAR (PBS) Umhlobo Wenene FM MY STATION – MOST VOTES Ligwalagwala FM HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES Mpho Nefale (Phalaphala FM) Kid Nkayi (trufm) Zolani Mark Bongco (Umhlobo Wenene) Mbulelo Ngewu (Umhlobo Wenene) The SABC would like to thank its loyal listeners for the continuous support and all the SABC employees who have contributed immensely to the successes of SABC radio. SABC radio stations are now available on the SABC News app which was introduced on Friday, 12 April 2019. Watch Morning Live on SABC 2 and SABC News channel on Monday, 15 April 2019 for the official launch of the app. END Issued By: Group Communications Media Enquiries: Vuyo Mthembu (SABC Spokesperson) | T. 011 714 2236 |


comments powered by Disqus

Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)



Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

Complementary Content

Your Name:*

Your Email:*

Your Message:*

Enter Captcha:*